dreams and inspirations, Fitness Training

Fitness Journey Part 1

I became a certified Fitness Trainer two and a half years ago. It was a last minute decision but it worked hand in hand with my other profession, am RMT.

One of the things that pushed me to become a Fitness Trainer was to get back in shape myself. I had gone through a difficult pregnancy and c-section delivery less than 3 years before and was still recovering, my posture had only just been corrected less than a year before and my body was still adjusting, and I was so out of shape from all of that. I figured becoming a trainer would be the motivation I needed to get back in shape. And for a long time, it was.

Little did I know that my life was about to change again. The night before my practical final (there was a written part two months previous) I found out I was pregnant again. And though this was amazing, I knew it wouldn’t be easy. The doctor even warned me that it could be another c-section delivery. Apparently it was a hormonal issue.

So I went through the morning/all day sickness, the aches and pains, the changes and lo and behold, 9 months later I was in the hospital waiting to find out if it was going to be a c-section. It did end up having to be one and once again I was recovering for a while. All this put my fitness goals on hold.

Once I was back up on my feet, I started doing light exercises and figuring out what worked for me. I quickly learned, at the time, I wasn’t a morning exerciser. Probably due to the fact I was up 6 or 7 times a night feeding the littlest one. He was an eater! Nothing would keep this kid full.

I tried the jogging thing. Sort of got into a habit. I’m not a jogger or a runner though, I’m a sprinter so that got hard.

I was just getting into a routine when one day, out of nowhere, I passed a gallstone (which was more painful than my c-sections btw). This resulted in a few days of pain before needing surgery to remove the gall bladder. Again, recovery time. My fitness goals seemed to get further each time.

After I recovered, I wasn’t sure how to go about trying to get in shape again. I tried a few of the same things I had been doing before, and now I was eating even less and way less junk food due to taking longer to digest but I wasn’t noticing a difference in size change or strength. It was frustrating.

I had one question in my mind: how was I supposed to help others reach their strength and fitness goals if I couldn’t get mine happening?

To be Continued in Fitness Journey Part 2

Leave a Reply

